Six Montana Teachers Chosen as State Finalists for the Presidential Science and Math Teaching Award

Billings Area Highlights

Six Montana school teachers have been selected as the 2019 Montana state finalists for the national prestigious Presidential Awards for Excellence in Mathematics and Science Teaching (PAEMST) the nation’s highest honor for U.S. mathematics and science teachers in grades kindergarten through 12. A committee of Montana science and math teachers selected the six teachers from a pool of 42 applicants statewide. The 2019 state finalist award winners are:

Jacob Warner, Capital High School, Helena
Jordon Graves, Reed Point Schools, Reed Point
Mary McMahon, Helena High School, Helena

Kimberly Popham, Belgrade High School, Belgrade
Thomas Cubbage, CM Russell High School, Great Falls
Robert Jensen, Hellgate High School, Missoula

State finalists completed a rigorous application process that incorporates video footage of classroom lessons along with substantial written documentation of impacts of their teaching methodology on student achievement.

The finalist’s applications have been submitted to the PAEMST where a national panel of highly distinguished scientists and mathematicians will review submissions to determine who will qualify for this esteemed award. Nationally, the awards program is administered by the National Science Foundation (NSF) on behalf of the White House. In Montana, the state recognition program is sponsored and administered by the Montana Professional Teaching Foundation in association with the Montana Association of Presidential Awardees.

This fall the 2019 Montana state finalists will be honored at awards dinner.

For more information about the PAEMST program, please visit:

Copyright 2020 Nexstar Broadcasting, Inc. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.

Don't Miss